Question on ROE

Discussions and chats related to Six Days in Fallujah.
Recon4thCav

Question on ROE

I know the Army had no ROE in Operation Phantom Fury. We had a greenlight to kill everyone. I thought the Marines had thier ROE lifted also. With that being said, why would the video game end if you kill anyone that is not on the US side? It was not a war crime or I would be in jail and many more of us would be. Seems like it is changing the true story of Fullajah.
evan466

Re: Question on ROE

I think you’ve gotten that information from one of the original trailers from the game in 2009, right? I don’t know if that’s still part of the game.

But I wanted to agree with you. It does seem like it would be changing the story.
Tan_47

It seems that Recon is referring to this thread: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=41

I know Read Omohundro stated in a 2009 interview that this was a function in the original game (starting at 2:11).

Now, I'm not an expert concerning the rules of engagement during the battle of Fallujah (I'm a civilian), but from what I've researched it seems that the rules of engagement where relaxed to the point where anybody who posed a threat or got in the way could be engaged.

So, a civilian that happens to be in Fallujah wouldn't pose as a threat unless they've some kind of weapon with them.

If there's anything to what I'm saying that is wrong, please point it out. But, as far as I'm concern, it seems that the rules of engagement would still have some parameters and wasn't simply a free-for-all.

In addition, I don't think the developers want to allow players to deliberately shoot innocents and have no consequences for those actions since that would simply encourage shooting everyone in sight.
Tan_47